Peter Medawar

From Who's Who from the Arab World
Jump to: navigation, search

Peter Medawar, full Sir Peter Brian Medawar (Arabic: بيتر مدور; February 28, 1915, Petropolis, Brazil - October 2, 1987, London, UK) was a biologist, winner of the 1960 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (with Frank Burnet) "for discovery of acquired immunological tolerance,"[1] a discovery that paved the way for successful organ and tissue transplantation.


  • The Strange Case of the Spotted Mice: and Other Classic Essays on Science (forward: Stephen Jay Gould; 1996)
  • Memoir of a Thinking Radish (1986)
  • Aristotle to Zoos Philosophical Dictionary of Biology (with Jean S. Medawar; 1986)
  • The Limits of Science (1984)
  • Pluto’s Republic (1982)
  • Advice To A Young Scientist (1981)
  • The Life Science (1977)
  • The Hope of Progress (1972)
  • The Art of the Soluble (1967)
  • The Future of Man (1959)
  • The Uniqueness of the Individual (1957)